



On behalf of the American Urological Association Political Action Committee (AUAPAC) Board of Directors, I want to thank you for your continued support of AUAPAC and efforts to advance urologic advocacy. I am pleased to share the 2023 AUAPAC Annual Report.

AUAPAC fully embraces the importance of transparency when sharing AUAPAC information. I feel this report does an excellent job of disclosing all the relevant information needed to paint a clear picture of AUAPAC activities for our members. For these reasons, the 2023 Annual Report includes:

- A list of candidates supported by AUAPAC in 2023,
- A list of this year's donors, and
- A snapshot of our end-of-the-year financials.

2023 was another year to feel proud of our advocacy. AUAPAC saw the bicameral introduction of the Specialty Physicians Advancing Rural Care Act, inclusion of overactive bladder report language in the Fiscal Year 2024 LHHS Appropriations Act, and introduction of the PSA Screening for HIM Act!

AUAPAC had its strongest year yet in 2023 and we shattered our previous fundraising records. More and more AUA members are seeing the value and the dividends of giving to AUAPAC. As AUAPAC grows, so does our impact on Capitol Hill and in urologic advocacy.

I am proud of what AUAPAC accomplished this year and look forward to the success we will achieve in 2024.

Sincerely,

Robert Bass, MD, MBA

AUAPAC Chair

# AUAPAC Overview

A Political Action Committee, or PAC, is a government-regulated organization anyone can form to raise money for political campaign donations.

AUAPAC is the bi-partisan political action committee of the American Urological Association, Inc. (AUA). It was established in 2019 to support the AUA's ability to forge and maintain relationships with federal elected officials. In an ever-changing political landscape, AUAPAC offers a unified voice to advance urology, as well as protect our specialty and better serve our patients.

## Mission of the AUAPAC

Founded in 1902, the AUA is a leading advocate for the specialty of urology. A premier urologic association, with more than 16,000 domestic members, the AUA provides invaluable support to the urologic community as it pursues its mission of fostering the highest standards in urologic care through education, research and the formulation of health care policy.

AUAPAC aims to raise the house of urology's profile and foster relationships with members of Congress in Washington, DC, as well as in their home districts, thereby providing opportunities to engage lawmakers and strengthen its advocacy networks. AUAPAC proudly represents the voice and broad interests of the AUA domestic membership, which reflects all facets of the urology community including urologists practicing in both academic/employed and private practice settings, as well as those non-physician members such as researchers and advanced practice providers.

### Who Receives AUAPAC Contributions

AUAPAC is nonpartisan. As such, it supports Democrats and Republicans alike. In 2023, AUAPAC supported 21 separate candidates. When examining the committee assignments of donation recipients, AUAPAC donated to eight members of the House Energy & Commerce Committee, six House Ways & Means Committee members, one member of the Senate Health, Education, Labor & Pensions Committee, two members of the Senate Finance Committee, and one member of the House/Senate Appropriations Committee.

True to its nonpartisan values, AUAPAC remains committed to supporting candidates who value the AUA's mission and priorities to advance urology and advance urologic patient care. When choosing to make a contribution to a candidate, the AUAPAC considers candidates' views on issues impacting urology.

### Board Members

### **AUAPAC BOARD MEMBERS (2023)**



CHAIR: Robert Bass, MD



VICE-CHAIR/SECRETARY: Eugene Rhee, MD



TREASURER: Arthur Tarantino, MD



FUNDRAISING CHAIR: Kevin Koo, MD



Candace Granberg, MD



Mark Edney, MD



Kurt McCammon, MD



Brian McNeil, MD



Raju Thomas, MD

### List of Campaign Contributions (2023)



Sen. John Barrasso, MD (R-WY) - \$1.000



Rep. Neal Dunn, MD (R-FL-02) - \$2,500



Rep. Ami Bera, MD (D-CA-06) - \$5,000



Rep. John Joyce, MD (R-PA-13) - \$2,000



Rep. Lisa Blunt Rochester (D-DE-At Large) - \$1,000



Senator Tim Kaine (D-VA) - \$2,500



Rep. Ken Calvert (R-CA-42) - \$1,000



Rep. Mike Kelly (R-PA-16) - \$1,000



Senator Robert Casey (D-PA) - \$2,500



Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-WA-05) - \$2,500



Rep. Suzan DelBene (D-WA-01) - \$1,000



Rep. Mariannette Miller-Meeks, MD (R-IA-02) -\$1,000



Rep. Greg Murphy, MD (R-NC-03) - \$2,500



Rep. Terri Sewell (D-AL-07) - \$1,000



Rep. Frank Pallone (D-NJ-06) - \$1,000



Rep. Jason Smith (R-MO-08) - \$2,000



Sen. Jacky Rosen (D-NV) - \$2,500



Rep. Mike Thompson (D-CA-04) - \$1,000



Rep. Deborah Ross (D- NC-02) - \$1,000



Rep. Raul Ruiz, MD (D-CA-25) - \$2,500



Rep. Kim Schrier, MD (D-WA-08) - \$2,000

#### LIST OF 2023 AUAPAC CONTRIBUTORS

#### **Platinum Member**

Patel, Pratik Rhee, Eugene

#### **Gold Member**

Averch, Timothy Bass, Robert Berger, Kenneth Broghammer, Joshua Burnett, Arthur Chai, Toby Childs, Lane Duty, Brian Edney, Mark Gormley, E. Ann Grady, Brian Hyun, Grace Kaplan, Steven Koo, Kevin Langston, Joshua Meacham, Randall McCammon, Kurt Messing, Edward

#### **Silver Member**

Okeke, Zeph

Powell, C.R.

Salazar, Marco

Waterhouse, Robert

Adey, Gregory Andino, Juan Arora, Hans

Asafu-Adjei, Denise Babayan, Richard Biewenga, Eric Biggs, Grace Bird, Vincent Bretan, Peter

#### Clennon, Emily

Cohen, Seth Cone, Eugene Cones, Maureen Crawford, David Cummings, James Das, Anurag Duchene, David Eastham, James Evans, Jeffrey Frankel, Jeffrey

Frendl, Daniel

Galansky, Logan George, Asher Gilbaugh, James

Glazyrine, Vassili Golla, Vishnukamal

Gonzalez, Chris Granberg, Candace Green, David Grob, B. Mayer Grunewald, Nathan Hanson, Greg Heinlen, Jonathan James, Andrew Jameson, Jason Kaplan, Damara Kasraeian, Ali Kiechle, Jonathan Kincade, Matthew Kuntze, Joseph Lam, John Lynch, John

Mallory, Chase Maidaa, Michael

Maroni, Paul McAchran, Sarah McNeil, Brian Motola, Jay Mydlo, Jack Myrga, John

Ng, Linda

Nisbet, Alan

O'Connor, Collette

Olumi, Aria

Osinski, Thomas

Palese, Michael Patel, Belur Penson, David

Pockros, Benjamin

Pontari, Michel

Rechtschaffen, Thomas

Riley, Julie Rivera, Rolando Rumohr, Jon Shah, Sovrin Sheppard, Mike Smelser, Woodson Spitz, Aaron Starkman, Jonathan Stern, Karen Stimson, CJ Stine, Brad Stringer, Thomas Tadros, Nick Talwar, Ruchika

Tarantino, Arthur Taub, David

Thatcher, Jacob

Thomas, Raju Underwood, Willie

Van Horn, Christine

Wiegand, Lucas Williams, Michael Zeidman, Eric

Ziegelbaum, Michael

#### **Bronze Member**

Andersen, Beth Atiemo, Humphrey Bajic, Petar Berger, Alisa **Bole, Raevti** Borhan, Al Brown, James DeGrado, Justin Desai, Vikas Fallick, Mark

Isharwal, Sudhir Jones, Rabun

Hamilton, Blake

Harris, Andrew

Kane, Christopher

Kim, Jason King, Edward Kogan, Barry Kraft, Kate Langford, Tim Lau, Britney

Lehner, Kelly Leveillee, Raymond Liebermen, Stephen Maranchie, Jodi McIntire, Linda McWilliams, Glen Michel, Katharine Nicolini, Juliana Pintauro, Michael

Pollard, Matthew

Preminger, Glenn Richards, Gideon Richards, Kyle Sarazen, Arnold Schoor, Richard Sellke, Nicholas Siegel, Sanford Sklar, Geoffrey Softness, Kenneth Stencel, Mike Sur, Roger

Swords, Kelly Uhlman, Matt Wallis, Chad Weiser, Adam Welliver, Robert Wendelken, James Yates, Jennifer Yatsenko, Tatyana

